The served salsa chicken

Scrumptious Salsa Chicken

I love chicken.

It’s versatile – can be prepared in an innumerable number of ways and taste different every time.  It’s inexpensive – one of the cheapest meats on the market.  It’s healthy – one of the leanest meats you can buy.  And, most importantly, it’s delicious – no matter how it is cooked, it’s almost always yummy!

Because of the above reasons, I thought that a chicken recipe would be a perfect choice for my first blog post.  This recipe for Salsa Chicken is one of my all-time favorites, and includes the four factors that make a recipe magical – it is healthy, takes almost no time to throw together, is budget-friendly, and is so tasty!  I could easily eat this every day and be content.  Even if you aren’t a big fan of spicy or Mexican food, I encourage you to give this recipe a try anyway – I guarantee that it will win your heart as it has won mine!

Scrumptious Salsa Chicken

You will need:

  • 2 16-ounce jars of chunky salsa (whatever strength you want)
  • 1 can low-fat or “Healthy Request” cream of chicken soup
  • 1 can any type beans (kidney, pinto, navy, etc.)
  • 2 boneless skinless chicken thighs, or one large boneless skinless chicken breast
  • 4 oz. (½ small block) reduced fat cheddar cheese
  • Tortilla chips
  • Crock pot (or large regular pot, if don’t want to use a crock pot)

(Click here for the printable PDF version of this recipe!)

First, gather all your ingredients together!

All the ingredients needed to make salsa chicken

Next, open your can of beans, then rinse and drain them using a colander.

Rinsed beans

Dump the jars of salsa, soup, and the beans into the crock pot…

The beans, salsa, and soup in the pot

Then mix them up!

The salsa, beans, and soup mixed together

Next, take your chicken pieces and place them in the crock pot with the salsa mixture.

The chicken with the salsa mixture

Now push the chicken down into the salsa mix, covering them completely.  You shouldn’t even be able to tell that they’re there!

The chicken submerged in the salsa mixture

Place your crock pot on the base, and cook on medium for about 6 hours.  (If you don’t have a crock pot or don’t remember to put the recipe in the pot earlier in the day, you can achieve the same effect by placing all ingredients in a regular large pot and cooking on the stove over low heat for 1½ – 2 hours).

The crock pot on medium heat

In the meantime, grate the cheese and set it aside for later.  I used Cabot 75% reduced fat “sharp extra light” cheddar – I stock up on it when there’s a BOGO sale at my local grocery store, because it keeps for a long time and is an excellent low-fat alternative to a regularly fatty ingredient.  However, if you can’t find it on sale, feel free to use any reduced fat cheddar cheese – there’s usually a store brand of a cheddar cheese made with 2% milk, which is healthier than the full fat kind.

146

After the cooking time is up, the chicken should fall apart easily.  Shred the chicken into small strips in the pot with the side of a spoon, and mix it in with the salsa.

The chicken broken into strips

Now, serve it up!  Place the salsa chicken on a plate, top with a bit of the grated cheese, and scoop it up with tortilla chips.  Mmmmm!

The served salsa chicken

Now you too have experienced the delicious event that is salsa chicken!  This recipe makes six generous portions, and is great as leftovers (in the rare event that you are able to refrain from eating it all, that is!).  Let me know in the comments if you made this recipe and enjoyed it (or not!), or if you have any questions or suggestions for me!

12 thoughts on “Scrumptious Salsa Chicken

    • I took a look at that recipe, and they are similar! I’ll have to try that one sometime too. You’re right, this is one of the easiest meals I make, which is one of the reasons I love it! And it’s yummy too 🙂

  1. I’m always on the look out for crock pot recipes and this one sounds good! I think I will try it. I just figured out a trick for using the crock pot. I bought a new one last year and it cooks faster than my old one, so I can’t leave things on for too long. So I tried using a light timer (one of those things you can plug your lamp into) and it works great. If the recipe calls for a cooking time of 6 hours and I won’t be home from work before 9 hours, just plug the crock pot into the timer and set it to start cooking later in the morning.

    • That idea with the timer is genius! I will definitely have to try that one sometime – like you, I sometimes find the cooking start time for crock pot recipes to be inconvenient. I hope you enjoy this recipe when you try it!

  2. I love Mexican food. Wonderful recipe, I will be making this one. You like Mexican salsa? Check this out: splendidrecipes.wordpress.com/2013/11/01/fresh-mexican-salsa (video included).

    Nice blog and great posted articles!! Thanks SunnyCook!!

    Regards,
    Randy

      • Thanks Sunny Cook for taking the time to respond to my comments. Thanks for your Following as well.

        If your interested in Health and Nutrition check out our web-site “Savor the Food and Your Health” at www,savorthefood.com.

        As I said before I look forward to your up coming articles at The Sunny Cook!! 😉

        Regards,
        Randy

Leave a me a comment! :)

